Skip to content

In Medias Res

January 24, 2008

I had to look that phrase up to see if it wasn’t in “media” res, which is where I frequently feel I am. But ahem, here we are.

Not many posts lately as things have gotten busier amongst commitments full-time, part-time, freelance and otherwise. What kind of life are we living when you can’t blog on the job? Another reason is that after taking a look at my bookshelf I realized I haven’t finished a book in a while because I just keep starting new ones. That ever happen to you?

It’s not that the books I’m leaving no longer hold my interest, it’s more like the different books I’m reading are on different channels; they are each their own experience–one does not replace the other. That being said, with so many hanging over from 2007 I’m getting the urge to close a few covers and get onto something new. That and I don’t like letting people read books while I’m reading them, and my lovely wife is getting restless waiting for the new League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. What to do?

Currently on the go I have A Spot of Bother (read intermittently before going to bed); My Boring Ass Life (Kevin Smith’s ‘extremely candid’ diary, read to put me to sleep); The Fermata (dipped into and savored. Like scotch); The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Black Dossier (Dove into in the evenings when I’ve got the fortitude for it– don’t get me wrong it’s totally engrossing and enjoyable, but it demands full attention to get the most impact); Men of Tomorrow: Geeks, Gangsters and the Birth of the Comic Book (a history book, best read at work at lunch to fully absorb the copious details); and The Braindead Megaphone, essays by George Saunders (read on streetcars, perfect little gasps of detail and empathy. Or is that sympathy?)  Smash!

With all this on the go, I’ve got the desire for some closure. Which is why I devoted all of my free time to reading the entire, what is it 50 issue run of the complete Planet Hulk and World War Hulk crossover Marvel Comics Event! What can I say I’m a sucker. It’s winter people> Ya gotta do what you like when hibernating.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

